Utah Food Handler Safety Training Permit
Utah Food Safety Training Requirements
Utah Food Handler Permit Requirement
Before any Utah Food Handler is allowed to prepare or handle food, which will be served to the public, the Food Handler must:
- Complete an approved Utah Food Handler Training Course from an approved training provider, pass the exam, and receive a certificate; and
- Obtain a Utah Food Handler Permit from the Utah Department of Health.
This includes: Utah food service employees that work in restaurants, cafes, bakeries, delis, mobile vendors, food trucks, bars, and convenience stores - such as chefs, cooks, servers, preparers, caterers and managers.
Utah Food Handler Training Rule - as defined in Utah Rule R392-103-3:
- (1) A food handler must have a valid food handler permit issued by a local health officer in the local health district where the food handler resides at the time the certificate is issued. The local health officer shall issue a food handler permit by mail or in person to a food handler that has a valid certificate indicating they have taken a course and passed an exam from an approved food handler training provider.
Training Approved by the Utah Department of Health: (2/9/17) (PDF Link)
- Approved Utah Food Handler Online Training Provider: 360training (Learn2Serve)
We’re proud to offer the Utah Food Handlers Permit at the lowest price in the State of Utah!
Certified Food Manager
Utah requires that a person-in-charge or owner of a retail food establishment be a Certified Food Manager (CFM) as outlined in the Utah Health Code by successfully passing an ANSI-Accredited food safety certification exam. - (i.e., food managers in restaurants, markets, bakeries, bars, food trucks, commissaries, and food facilities that prepare, handle, or serve non-prepackaged potentially hazardous food).
Looking for Utah Food Manager Certification - Click here
Utah Food Safety Training Regulations
Utah Code requirements for Food Handlers and Certified Food Managers:
Utah Food Service Sanitation and Handler Training
Utah Food Safety Manager Certification
- Utah Rule R392-101 Food Safety Manager Certificate
- Utah Code – Title 26: Chapter 15a: Food Safety Manager Certification Act
- Utah Department of Health - Food Safety Manager Certification
- Utah Food Safety Rules/Regulations
Utah Food Safety Contact Info
Utah Department of Health
Bureau of Epidemiology
288 North 1460 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Utah Food Handler Training Course
The Utah Food Handler online training course will teach you the basics of food safety principles, regulations, and techniques to maintain a food-safe environment in a Utah food establishment.
This course will take you step-by-step through everything you need to know, including food safety definitions, safe hygienic practices, safe food temperatures, cross-contamination of food, and food-related illnesses.
At the conclusion of the course, the learner will be tested on their knowledge of the learning objectives and content. You will be required to pass a comprehensive test and must pass with a 75% or better. Upon successfully passing the exam, the learner will be issued a Utah Food Handler Certificate of Completion - which is valid for 30 days.
You will also be automatically registered with the Utah Health Department and will receive your Utah Food Handler Permit from the Utah Health Department by mail. The Utah Food Handler Permit issued is valid in Utah for 3 years.
Course Hours: 4 hrs
Permit Valid for: 3 years
- Utah Food Handler Training - Price: $6.95
- Utah Health Department Permit Fee (Included) - Price: $15.00
- Utah Training + Permit Total Price: $21.95 (Lowest Price Available)
- Lesson 1: Introduction to Food Safety
- Lesson 2: Biohazards, Foodborne Disease
- Lesson 3: Contaminants
- Lesson 4: Food and Temperature Control
- Lesson 5: Employee Health, Hygiene and Training
- Lesson 6: Purchasing, Receiving and Storing Food
- Lesson 7: Cleaning and Sanitizing
- Lesson 8: Pest Control
End of Course - Utah Food Handler Training Certificate
At the conclusion of the course, the learner will be tested on their knowledge of the learning objectives and content. You will be required to pass a comprehensive test and must pass with a 75% or better. Upon successfully passing the exam, the learner will be issued a Utah Food Handler Certificate of Completion.
Your Utah Food Handler Training Certificate of Completion will be valid for 30 days. Print this and keep it with you at work.
To print your Certificate of Completion please go to the "My Courses" section of your profile, and from the "Show" drop-down list select "Completed Courses". Once selected, please click on the "Print Certificate" icon in blue to print your Certificate of Completion.
Receive Utah Food Handler Permit in Mail
You will be automatically registered with the Utah Health Department and will receive your Utah Food Handler Permit from the Utah Health Department by mail. The Utah Food Handler Permit issued is valid in Utah for 3 years.
Utah Food Safety Local Requirements
Salt Lake County
Salt Lake County Health Department
2001 South State Street S2-600
Salt Lake City, Utah 84190
Salt Lake County follows Utah State Food Safety Requirements:
- Food Handler Service Workers
Salt Lake County Health Department requires all individuals preparing, serving, or handling food in or around a food service establishment or mobile food unit (whether the individuals are compensated or not) to receive adequate food service training, either as a certified food handler or as a certified food safety manager.
- Certified Food Manager
At least one full-time certified food safety manager must be employed at every food service establishment and mobile food unit in Salt Lake County. When replacing a departing certified food safety manager, the establishment has sixty (60) days to employ a new certified food safety manager. Certification is valid for three (3) years from the date of issue, unless revoked or suspended by the Salt Lake County Health Department.
- Mobile Food Service
All mobile food service units (such as carts, trucks, and trailers), as well as shaved-ice stands, operating in Salt Lake County must meet health department regulations and have a current, active mobile food service permit.
- Temporary Food Events
Any temporary food service offered to the public, whether offered for a price or free of charge, requires a permit from the health department. Most notably, this includes food booths at fairs, festivals, celebrations, exhibitions, carnivals, and other community gatherings.
- Utah Health Department Approved
- Duration: 4 Hours
- Valid for 3 years
- Take course anywhere and anytime
- Certificate upon completion
- Receive Permit in Mail
- 24×7 Support: (877) 881-2235 - Online
Utah Food Handler Training
Utah Health Department Permit Fee
Price (Included): $15.00
Utah Food Handler Training + Permit
Price: $21.95 (Lowest Price Available)
Get up to a 40% group discount! Enroll and train all your food safety employees with a group enrollment. Track progress, generate reports, and manage learners using a cloud-based platform. More Info
Our Food Safety Training is approved by the Utah Department of Health and valid statewide for: Salt Lake City, West Valley City, Provo, West Jordan, Orem, Sandy, Ogden, St. George, Layton, Millcreek, Taylorsville, South Jordan, Lehi, Logan, Murray, Draper, Bear River, Central Utah, Davis County, Salt Lake County, Southeastern Utah, Southwest Utah, Summit County, Tooele County, Tri County, Utah County, Wasatch County, Weber/Morganand many more!